Released July 14, 2026 · Checked September 7, 2026

Texas college acceptance rates for Texas applicants

Compare official first-time undergraduate admissions at 37 Texas public universities. The latest results cover Fall 2025, with nine years of history.

What are the latest Texas college acceptance rates?

In THECB's Fall 2025 Texas-applicant data, UT Austin accepted 15,931 of 37,691 applicants (42.3%), and Texas A&M accepted 25,052 of 47,537 (52.7%). These percentages apply to Texas applicants in this report. They are not overall rates across all residency groups or predictions for an individual student.

Source: THECB admissions workbook, Fall 2025 tab, institution Total rows.

Compare Texas public university admissions, 2017–2025

Choose an entering class, find a university, or sort by applicant volume or acceptance rate. The change column compares the same institution and applicant group with the preceding year.

37 universities · Fall 2025 · Texas applicants

First-time undergraduate Texas applicants and outcomes, Fall 2025
UniversityTexas applicantsTexas acceptedTexas acceptance rateChange vs. 2024Texas enrolled
Angelo State UniversityFICE 003541 · source row 96,4155,10179.5%-3.0 pp1,163
East Texas A&M UniversityFICE 003565 · source row 1811,46210,51891.8%+1.4 pp1,118
Lamar UniversityFICE 003581 · source row 277,8506,71185.5%-0.9 pp1,637
Midwestern State UniversityFICE 003592 · source row 367,0696,34189.7%-0.2 pp5
Prairie View A&M UniversityFICE 003630 · source row 999,1256,86875.3%-1.9 pp1,822
Sam Houston State UniversityFICE 003606 · source row 6317,68316,58593.8%+3.5 pp3,286
Stephen F. Austin State UniversityFICE 003624 · source row 8116,16415,84598.0%+3.9 pp2,476
Sul Ross State UniversityFICE 003625 · source row 901,2331,21898.8%0.0 pp185
Sul Ross State University Rio Grande CollegeFICE 000020 · source row 566100.0%Not availableNot reported
Tarleton State UniversityFICE 003631 · source row 10716,83811,56368.7%-4.9 pp2,893
Texas A&M International UniversityFICE 009651 · source row 2054,2853,54182.6%+0.9 pp1,419
Texas A&M UniversityFICE 003632 · source row 11647,53725,05252.7%-4.9 pp10,984
Texas A&M University at GalvestonFICE 010298 · source row 2401,6181,56796.8%+3.0 pp693
Texas A&M University-Central TexasFICE 042295 · source row 301646195.3%+0.2 pp43
Texas A&M University-Corpus ChristiFICE 011161 · source row 24910,8189,84191.0%+2.7 pp2,230
Texas A&M University-KingsvilleFICE 003639 · source row 1257,2797,15198.2%+8.6 pp1,159
Texas A&M University-San AntonioFICE 042485 · source row 3188,2657,80094.4%+1.3 pp1,203
Texas A&M University-TexarkanaFICE 029269 · source row 2922,6162,33289.1%-1.4 pp382
Texas A&M University-VictoriaFICE 013231 · source row 2832,1212,06297.2%+1.9 pp218
Texas Southern UniversityFICE 003642 · source row 13411,9427,03958.9%-38.3 pp1,299
Texas State UniversityFICE 003615 · source row 7238,89635,50291.3%+1.3 pp8,578
Texas Tech UniversityFICE 003644 · source row 14325,47422,07486.7%+19.3 pp6,797
Texas Woman's UniversityFICE 003646 · source row 1528,1227,71194.9%+0.3 pp1,448
The University of Texas at ArlingtonFICE 003656 · source row 17028,42622,62779.6%-0.2 pp5,196
The University of Texas at AustinFICE 003658 · source row 17937,69115,93142.3%+2.6 pp8,561
The University of Texas at DallasFICE 009741 · source row 21428,76220,49171.2%+2.1 pp4,416
The University of Texas at El PasoFICE 003661 · source row 18711,92911,929100.0%0.0 pp4,313
The University of Texas at San AntonioFICE 010115 · source row 23128,51326,26592.1%+4.8 pp7,247
The University of Texas at TylerFICE 011163 · source row 2585,3675,09695.0%+1.0 pp1,502
The University of Texas Permian BasinFICE 009930 · source row 2231,4591,20382.5%-11.4 pp536
The University of Texas Rio Grande ValleyFICE 003599 · source row 5419,07117,65392.6%-1.6 pp7,056
University of HoustonFICE 003652 · source row 16129,32922,73977.5%+1.8 pp6,216
University of Houston-Clear LakeFICE 011711 · source row 2661,9961,83491.9%+1.2 pp409
University of Houston-DowntownFICE 012826 · source row 2747,2156,34788.0%-1.9 pp1,161
University of North TexasFICE 003594 · source row 4536,18925,90671.6%-0.7 pp5,758
University of North Texas at DallasFICE 042421 · source row 3095,9714,81780.7%+1.2 pp413
West Texas A&M UniversityFICE 003665 · source row 1964,6854,29491.7%-1.7 pp1,027

“pp” means percentage points. “Not reported” preserves blank or masked source cells; it does not mean zero. Historical university names follow the selected year's source. Acceptance rate = Texas accepted ÷ Texas applicants.

How have rates changed at six major Texas universities?

Follow the same Texas-applicant measure across nine entering classes. Changes reflect the reported applicant pool and admission outcomes; this table does not isolate policy effects, major selectivity, or school quality.

Texas-applicant acceptance rates by entering fall
University201720182019202020212022202320242025
The University of Texas at Austin48.6%49.2%44.0%44.3%40.1%43.2%42.6%39.6%42.3%
Texas A&M University70.3%66.3%57.6%63.0%63.6%61.2%63.4%57.6%52.7%
University of Houston62.7%63.3%65.3%63.3%74.5%68.6%70.9%75.7%77.5%
The University of Texas at Dallas79.4%80.3%77.9%78.9%88.3%85.2%70.1%69.2%71.2%
Texas Tech University80.2%63.6%56.3%61.5%58.0%57.4%63.3%67.3%86.7%
The University of Texas at San Antonio79.3%78.8%76.4%83.5%90.7%87.1%88.7%87.3%92.1%

Which Texas data was updated in 2026?

Report or policyRelease or reviewWhat the year means
University applicants, acceptance and enrollmentJuly 14, 2026 releaseFall 2017–2025 entering classes; the comparison above.
High-school college destinationsOfficial hub checked September 7, 2026Latest campus file listed: 2023–2024 graduates enrolling in Fall 2024.
First-year college GPAFebruary 19, 2026 release2023–2024 graduates' performance in FY 2025; already included on the high-school pages.
UT Austin automatic admissionPolicy checked September 7, 2026Top 5% for eligible Summer/Fall 2026–Spring 2027 applicants and Summer/Fall 2027–Spring 2028 applicants.

The new admissions workbook contains no Fall 2026 results. A report published in 2026 can describe an earlier class. The official high-school enrollment hub still lists Fall 2024 as its latest campus cohort.

For UT Austin, class rank is one part of eligibility, and automatic university admission does not guarantee a requested major. Use the current university catalog for requirements. The workbook's historical “Top 10” category is not a statement of today's automatic-admission cutoff.

Connect university admissions with your high school's destinations

University admission rates describe the people who applied. The school profiles answer a different question: where recent graduates enrolled. Use both views with their own reporting years and denominators.

Find your Texas high school

College-going trends, published destinations, and first-year GPA bands across 1,765 school profiles.

UT Austin feeder schools

Reported enrollment by high school and county, Fall 2019–2024.

Texas A&M feeder schools

Explore the schools sending graduates to Texas A&M and compare their graduate shares.

Sources and methodology

We retain each university's “Total” row from the THECB 2017–2025 workbook, joining years by its six-digit FICE institution identifier. Rates divide “Accepted (Total Texas)” by “Applied (Total Texas).” Counts retain source values; rates round to one decimal, and changes use unrounded rates. Statewide rows are kept separately in the downloadable data and are not added to the university rows.

The state admissions reporting documentation describes completed applications. University news releases and Common Data Sets can use different populations and reporting definitions. For example, UT Austin's Fall 2025 news release reports 90,690 freshman applications, while this THECB workbook lists 77,639 in its all-applicant column. Those denominators should not be combined with the Texas accepted count.

Source values are retained even when unusual: Midwestern State University's Fall 2025 Total row reports five Texas enrollees. Treat that as a source-reported value, not a verified total freshman class size.

The workbook covers public universities; it does not provide admissions rates for private universities such as Rice, Baylor, SMU, or TCU. Its all-applicant counts lack matching all-applicant accepted totals, and its class-rank columns lack matching applicant denominators. We therefore do not derive overall, out-of-state, or non-automatic-admission rates. Source row numbers in the table refer to the selected “Fall YEAR” worksheet.

Texas admissions FAQ

Is this Fall 2026 Texas admissions data?

No. THECB released this report on July 14, 2026, but its latest entering class is Fall 2025. The high-school destination dataset covers Fall 2019–2024. Publication year, admissions year, and high-school graduation year are different.

Are these overall or out-of-state acceptance rates?

These rates use the report’s Texas applicant and Texas accepted counts. The separate all-applicant column includes out-of-state applicants, but the workbook does not provide a matching all-applicant accepted total. It cannot supply an overall or out-of-state acceptance rate.

Can I find a Texas high school’s acceptance rate?

The university report gives institution-level admission counts. The high-school reports show enrollment destinations. Dividing a high school’s UT Austin enrollees by its graduates measures a destination share, not an acceptance rate.

Does automatic admission guarantee a major at UT Austin?

No. UT Austin’s catalog says automatic admission to the university does not guarantee the requested major. Its current admissions page lists a top 5% threshold for eligible Summer/Fall 2026 and Spring 2027 applicants, and Summer/Fall 2027 and Spring 2028 applicants.